Drinks, Milk Tea, Shop

“Bonsai” Garden Milk Tea – The Alley Lujiaoxiang

Today’s my first full day in Japan! I landed last night, but my group of friends were too tired yesterday to go to anything, so I’m going out for the first time today. There was a group this morning that went to go get boba, but they went real early since the store opens at 8am, so I passed. However, a group of friends are going out in the afternoon, and you know it I’m using this chance to go get boba.

I obviously wanted a milk tea, and other than the tie guan yin tea, everything else was the same as the American menu. I found the Bonsai name interesting, so I thought that would be a unique milk tea to try since I can’t get it back home.

So it turns out the drink is actually that one aesthetic drink off of instagram, the one that looks like a plant coming out of dirt, aka a mint leaf on top of an Oreo topping. The bottom was the default milk tea with a cream topping. Honestly, even with the aesthetic, it was a bit disappointing. I think aesthetics are cool, but I’m really not a huge one for aesthetics over taste. I mean, it was a good milk tea, a good amount of sweetness despite not adjusting the ice or sugar. The tea by itself was actually not very sweet at all without the brown sugar boba. It was a nice drink overall, but I’m not a huge fan of Oreo in the boba. The boba itself was pretty good though, nice chew with great flavor.

Details: “Bonsai” Garden Milk Tea; large; brown sugar boba; from The Alley (Shinjuku Lumine)

“Bonsai” Garden Milk Tea
“Bonsai” Garden Milk Tea

2 thoughts on ““Bonsai” Garden Milk Tea – The Alley Lujiaoxiang”

Leave a comment