Drinks, Milk Tea, misc

Tapioca Milk Tea (タピオカミルクティー) – Emial

A few weeks ago I was doing my weekly grocery run, and near the juices and bottled coffee section sitting at the edge was this little guy. And I had to get it. It’s a bottled boba drink. Is it going to be bad? Probably. Am I still going to try it? Yes, it’s boba. I’m going to buy all the bad boba once and review it while I’m at it.

Anyway, I. bought it, saved it in my fridge. I just finished a workout, and since I don’t plan on going out of town this weekend, I figured I’ll have my boba drink.

Upon first sip, I noticed it tastes like the black milk tea I’ve been having in Japan (Koucha). The packaging says it uses 100% Assam Tea. I guess it does kind of taste like Assam Teas I’ve had back home, but it’s like a mix of that and the Japanese black tea if I had to comment on the tea taste. The drink itself it a little on the sweet side, but pleasantly not too sweet.

Now for the moment of truth…the “boba”. Ok, it’s obviously not real boba, but it’s actually not bad. It’s really like in between normal boba and agar boba. It’s never going to compete with real boba, but as someone who’s not a fan of agar boba, I don’t mind the boba in this drink. It has a soft texture, not like jelly, but almost like a soft agar boba, whereas normal agar boba is hard and crunchy I think. Reading the ingredients, I don’t believe there’s actual tapioca flour in the boba, which makes a lot of sense.

Do I hate it? No. Will I get it again? No, but not a bad experience.

Details: Tapioca Milk Tea; from the local grocery store

Tapioca Milk Tea
Tapioca Milk Tea

1 thought on “Tapioca Milk Tea (タピオカミルクティー) – Emial”

Leave a comment