Drinks, Milk Tea, Shop

Loole Condora Milk Tea (ルールコンドラミルクティー) – Shin An Ju

Today I’m in Sapporo for Christmas Eve, and since we had plans in the area, my planned boba spot today was Shin An Ju. I’ve been wanting to try this more local “Taiwanese” boba chain for a while, and since I’m staying overnight I didn’t have to worry about lugging it with the ice all the way onto the bus, ha!

There’s two milk teas on the menu that at first seemed to be unique to Shin An Ju, because at first I literally could not find any information on this, and the Uba milk tea anywhere on the internet, in English or in Japanese. Any web searches initially lead me back to articles on Shin An Ju. However, after a bit more of a deep dive, and Japanese searching, it seems that both of them are both black teas, and can be used to make royal milk tea. The Loole Condora (Condera?) has also been compared to Ceylon, which is a black tea variety I’m more used to. They’re both black teas, but clearly distinguished, so I’m interested in trying them out, and also seeing the potential difference. Today, I’m going to for the Loole Condora, obviously. Getting less ice because even though it’s cold out, they charge for no ice. Their milk teas already come with boba in them though!

The drink was really good, and the large was pleasantly surprisingly large (for Japan standards!). At first, I guess I didn’t mix in the sugar quite in enough, because the first sip was not sweet at all, which was fine. Then I mixed in the boba more, and drink overall was basically perfect. The milk tea was the perfect texture and tea to creaminess ratio, and the tea was one of those herby black teas, and the drink almost a classic milk tea. I’m curious to see what the Uba tea tastes like. The boba was also the perfect texture and taste, coming with brown sugar syrup to make my less sweet drink perfectly sweet. I am definitely making this a go to-place for boba!

Details: Loole Condora Milk Tea; large; less sugar; less ice; from Shin An Ju (Sapporo)

Leave a comment