Shop

Basic Boba – Gong Cha

Here’s another pretty big boba chain, and another international one at that! If you’ve been reading the blog, it’s kind of funny I’ve been getting Gong Cha so much more in Japan just because it’s the most accessible one to me at the moment. When I was planning my Korea trip and attempting to look for boba places, 99% of the the stores that popped up on Google Maps (which I know, is not the best option for Korea but it’s convenient for me to browse) were Gong Cha. And I thought, seriously? but maybe I didn’t look hard enough for search the proper way. My boyfriend also asked his friends in Korea for boba reccomendations, and they also said Gong Cha. I did search up the Korean menu to see any differences, and for the most part it’s super similar, apart from some milk teas that seem to cater to the Korean population. Sounds about right.

Ok to be perfectly honest, back when I was in America I never really went to Gong Cha much. For one, the closest to my house is located in a plaza with horrible parking. For another, there are so many better quality places nowadays that Gong Cha is easily beat, but when currently living in an area where there aren’t a many choices, there isn’t much room to be picky…

I think generally they have most of the base milk teas covered, and typically use creamers and powders for most of their drinks, which is fine.They’re usually just, ok, and I guess they’re not bad, just no amazing wow-factor anywhere. Plus, the Gong Chas in Japan do a seasonal, cool-looking drink every other month or so.

Chain? Yes. I’ve been a few in California, and a couple in Sapporo, Japan.

Drinks Tried: Strawberry Pistachio Milk Tea, Mango Milk Tea, Jasmine Milk Tea, Tieguanyin Milk Tea, Oolong Milk Tea, Alishan Oolong Milk Tea, Hojicha Milk Tea, Peach Jasmine Milk Tea, Houji & Kuromitsu Milk Tea, Cookie& Cream Milk Tea, Amanatsu Mango Milk Tea, Kyoho Grape Milk Tea, Baked Sweet Potato Milk Tea, Amaou Noel Milk Tea, Maneki Yuzu Houji Milk Tea, Heartful Bottle Strawberry Alishan Oolong Milk Tea with Pearl, Cookie & Cream Chocolat Milk Tea, Taro Milk, Pink Grapefruit Mango Resort Milk Tea, First Flush Matcha Milk Tea, Chardonnay Grape Milk Tea, Black Milk Tea

Boba: They have regular boba, along with some other standard topping choices. From what I remember of way back when, I guess it was ok. The Gong Cha boba in Japan is not bad, and does the job for my boba satisfaction.

Price: My only recent experience with drinks I’ve personally bought from Gong Cha are in Japan. For the current yen to dollar conversion, I suppose their prices aren’t too bad, for the quality and quantity you get, but for similar prices, you can get some slightly better deals elsewhere (in Japan).

Size: Typically you’ll find a medium and a large which seem pretty normal, but in Japan there’s an even smaller small size! That one’s tiny.

Interior: Usually Gong Chas are kind of small, but do have a clean red aesthetic to them.

Wait: Not much of a wait whenever I go.

Sell Food? The Gong Chas in Japan sell snacks and and other Taiwan inspired goods, like pineapple cakes and cha siu melon pan.

Reward System? Gong Cha Japan uses a stamp card with various rewards!

2 thoughts on “Basic Boba – Gong Cha”

Leave a comment