Drinks, Milk Tea, Shop

Chilai Oolong Tea Latte (琥珀烏龍拿鐵) – Truedan

My grandma and I went to Ding Tai Fung at Taipei 101 this morning. Aside from an amazing lunch, apparently the main reason she wanted to go to that location was because she wanted me to try a boba place over there. After eating and doing some snack shopping and waiting at the stop for our bus home, did we realize she forgot to show me the shop she was talking about. We considered going back, but we had quite a few bags to lug around, so we went home. I looked it up on Google later and I think she’s talking about this place called Tao Tao? Oh well, we can always go back later or go to a different branch.

I went out later in the afternoon to go exploring myself, and I planned on going to a Truedan. I’ve actually heard of the chain back in America, but there were never any near me, and what better opportunity than to go here in Taiwan?

Their menu has quite a bit of variety, but the actual milk tea or latte selection is just a few teas each. I also tried looking online, and I guess certain stores have some teas and some don’t. Anyway, I ended up going for this Chilai oolong, since it sounded unique and interesting, and I also figure, while in Taiwan, get the unique oolong teas that Taiwan produces and is known for.

I guess I didn’t mix the drink enough, because the first sip was quite unsweetened fragrant tea followed by an entire mouthful of sugar and boba. After mixing the drink a bit more, it turned into a very nicely and perfectly sweet tasting light milk tea, aromatic, not bitter and a nice drink texture. As expected of Taiwan, great oolong tea flavor. The boba is advertised as brown sugar, as I think this chain is known for their brown sugar boba and drinks, and the boba itself is very sweet, and also perfectly chewy.

Details: Chilai Oolong Tea latte; large; half sugar; boba; from Truedan

Chilai Oolong Tea Latte
Chilai Oolong Tea Latte

Leave a comment