Drinks, Milk Tea, Shop

Brown Sugar Tapioca Matcha Latte (黒糖タピオカ抹茶ラテ) – The Alley

Today I flew back to Hokkaido from Tokyo! As per tradition, since I had some time before our bus back home and I’d like a drink for the 2 hour ride home, I’m getting boba, today from The Alley. It’s mainly because I have a free upsize coupon that I need to use by the end of August, so I figured I’d better use it, and good that I’m around today.

Anyway, for today’s drink, I went with the brown sugar matcha. I’ve been meaning to try the one here for a while, and I feel like the past few times I’ve been to The Alley they either didn’t have it or I was trying some other seasonal thing.

I did ask the employee to poke the straw for me (it’s a Japanese thing I suppose), but that might have been my downfall because I don’t think it came shaken beforehand. My first sip was a ton of thick sugar, boba, and just a bit of drink, so I really needed to stir it. That said, once stirred, it’s pretty good, and a nice matcha drink. A bit powdery, but overall a nice consistency, and not that sweet even with brown sugar boba. The drink does settle easily if you put it down for a bit, and with the paper straw, stirring is a pain…boba is nice though, nicely chewy and with the classic brown sugar flavor.

Details: Brown Sugar Tapioca Matcha Latte; large; less sugar; no ice; from The Alley (Sapporo Daimaru)

Brown Sugar Tapioca Matcha Latte
Brown Sugar Tapioca Matcha Latte

1 thought on “Brown Sugar Tapioca Matcha Latte (黒糖タピオカ抹茶ラテ) – The Alley”

Leave a comment