Drinks, Milk Tea, Shop

Ghost Party (ゴーストパーティー) – The Alley

Today I went out to Sapporo, did some eating as always, as well as hang out with my boyfriend and his friend visiting in town. For boba on the way home, I was going to go somewhere else, but just in case for the spooky season, I checked the news for the boba shops, and sure enough, The Alley has a new Halloween drink. There’s no way this is lasting past Halloween, so this really was the only opportunity to try it. Plus, it sounds kind of good. (Gong Cha also has a Halloween special, but I’m ok on skipping that).

According to the news post, the drink is a combination of cocoa and black tea, and the ghost topping are all supposed to have different expressions, making every drink unique. There’s also white chocolate along the cup as per the description. Unfortunately, it only comes in M size, and sugar and ice can’t be adjusted. I supposed the ice helps the toppings stay afloat for the aesthetic, I mean, spooky vibes.

It’s a very good drink! It’s very rich in the chocolate flavor and texture, but also not too sweet or bitter. It’s like a nice refreshing iced chocolate, but not like a cheap one. I can’t exactly say I taste tea, but the cocoa is a pretty strong flavor anyway (I like chocolate, so uts nice for me.) The boba is nice and chewy, and doesn’t need to add extra sweetness to the drink. I can also feel some chocolate shavings as I sip the drink. Aside from the festive toppings, I kind of wish they had a cocoa drink on their normal menu.

As a side note, I have no idea how to eat the cookie on top, as I slowly consume the drink from a straw and it sinks into the drink with the whipped cream…Update: the cookie completely disintegrated.

Details: Ghost Party: boba; from The Alley (Sapporo Daimaru)

Ghost Party
Ghost Party

3 thoughts on “Ghost Party (ゴーストパーティー) – The Alley”

Leave a comment