Drinks, Milk Tea, Shop

Chocolate Tea (ショコラティー) – The Alley

Today I’m heading home from Sapporo, making a stop in Otaru beforehand. On the way to Otaru, I wanted to grab boba in Sapporo since we were leaving, and my choice of the day was The Alley, since there’s some new seasonals. Seems like they’re changing up their app in March, as no more points could be earned as of January and I had to use up all my points. I don’t foresee going back for a while, unless there’s a new seasonal, which I doubt.

The seasonals are a chocolate tea, and a salted caramel nuts milk tea. I am not interested in the latter, and am a chocolate girlie, so I went with the former. Apparently, it’s supposed to have Assam tea, cocoa, rich and slightly bitter chocolate sauce, and whipped cream. They recommend mild hot or hot for the seasonal drinks, but I went with coke because I prefer my drinks cold. Of course, I added boba.

It was pretty good. On first impression, the whipped cream is less the traditional swirl and more of two dollops of cream on top with some cookie crumbs. As for the taste, it was pretty good, mostly tasting like cocoa, and not very sweet, but more on the slightly bitter chocolate side. I didn’t really taste the tea, but maybe that contributes to the bitterness. Boba was good, very chewy.

Details: Chocolate Tea; less sugar, no ice; boba; from The Alley (Sapporo Daimaru)

1 thought on “Chocolate Tea (ショコラティー) – The Alley”

Leave a comment